Delaware: Become a Notary: A Delaware Notary Public is commissioned by the Secretary of State or Governor for a 2 or 4-year term. There are also two types of paper-only commissions: Notary Commissions for Certain Service Organizations and Limited Governmental Notary Commissions. An application fee is required.
- You must be at least 18 years of age.
- You must have a reasonable need for a notary public commission.
- You must be a Delaware resident or maintain an office or regular place of employment in Delaware.
- You must be of good character and reputation. (Individuals convicted of a felony who have not had their rights restored as well as applicants convicted of a crime involving dishonesty or moral turpitude are not eligible for a Delaware notary commission.)
Requirements to become a Notary Public in Delaware are subject to change. Visit the Delaware State Notary Public page for details and updates on becoming a notary in Delaware. Additional requirements may apply.