Mississippi: Become A Notary: Mississippi Notaries are commissioned by the Governor for a 4-year term. An application fee is required.
- Be a Mississippi resident for more than 30 days.
- File an application with the Secretary of State.
- Pay a $25 application fee.
- File a $5,000 Surety Bond and the Oath of Office with the Secretary of State.
- Obtain an official seal or stamp to affix to documents.
- Comply with the statutes governing Mississippi Notary Acts, including but not limited to, maintaining a registry of all documents signed.
Requirements to become a Notary Public in Mississippi are subject to change. Visit the Mississippi Notary Public page for details and updates on becoming a notary in Mississippi. Additional requirements may apply.