New Jersey: Become A Notary: New Jersey Notaries are appointed by the State Treasurer for a 5-year term. An application fee and online convenience fee (if applying only) are required.
New Jersey Requirements:
- You must be a resident of New Jersey or resident of adjoining state and working or maintaining an office in New Jersey.
- You must be at least 18 years of age.
- If you have been been convicted of a crime under the laws of any state or the United States, for an offense involving dishonesty, or a crime of the first or second degree, you can only be appointed by the State Treasurer with approval from the Attorney General of New Jersey.
Requirements to become a Notary Public in New Jersey are subject to change. Visit the New Jersey Notary Public page for details and updates on becoming a notary in New Jersey. Additional requirements may apply.