Oregon: Become A Notary: Oregon Notaries are commissioned by the Secretary of State for a 4-year term. An application fee is required.
- You must be 18 years of age or older.
- You must be a resident of Oregon or have a place of employment or practice in this state.
- You must be able to read and write English.
- You must have never had a notary public commission revoked during the 10-year period preceding the application date.
- You must have completed a notary training course within the last 6 months. (Note: Not required of current Oregon notaries with an active commission at the time the new application is received in our office.)
- You must have never been convicted of a felony or crime involving fraud, dishonesty or deceit during the 10-year period preceding the application date.
- You must have passed the Secretary of State’s Notary Public examination.
Requirements to become a Notary Public in Oregon are subject to change. Visit the Oregon Notary Public page for details and updates on becoming a notary in Oregon. Additional requirements may apply.