Utah: Become A Notary: Utah Notaries are commissioned by the Lieutenant Governor for 4-year term. An application fee and testing fee are required.
- You must be 18 years of age or older
- You must lawfully reside in this state 30 days immediately prior to filing for a notarial commission and must maintain permanent residency thereafter
- You must be able to read, write, and understand English
- You must submit an application to the Lieutenant Governor that contains no significant misstatement or omission of fact
- You must be a Utah resident or have permanent resident status under Section 245 of the Immigration and Nationality Act
- You must be endorsed by two residents of the state who are over the age of 18
- You must pass the exam
Requirements to become a Notary Public in Utah are subject to change. Visit the Utah Notary Public page for details and updates on becoming a notary in Utah. Additional requirements may apply.